Why I Hate Sweeping the Floor

Quote Posted on

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves.”

So, as the title said, the chore that I hate is sweeping the floor. The main reason is because of my parents. Not that I hate to do chores because I’m lazy, it’s because whenever I sweep the floor, my parents always bug me about the result, even when it’s not finished.

For example, when I’m sweeping under the chair and my parents sees me doing it, they always pointing some spot that they think hasn’t been swept yet. In fact, I already swept it! Oh how I hate it! It’s feels like there’s no way that I could sweep the floor in the right way. I don’t know how to please them in terms of sweeping the floor. Now, every time they asked me to sweep the floor, I refused and points that my work is never appreciated. The result, is that now they won’t ask me to do any chores, except cleaning the dishes, since I’m actually good at it.

7 thoughts on “Why I Hate Sweeping the Floor

    mariegriffith said:
    May 12, 2015 at 8:52 pm

    That is annoying when you’re trying to do a good job. It sounds like they appreciate you doing the dishes, though.

    Like

      hwankevin responded:
      May 16, 2015 at 3:34 pm

      Yes, because I did a satisfying job in cleaning those dishes. Despite that, my relationship with my parents is still good.

      Liked by 1 person

        mariegriffith said:
        May 16, 2015 at 4:03 pm

        And that’s the most important thing: our relationships.

        Liked by 1 person

    sensuallydesired said:
    May 13, 2015 at 3:25 am

    I enjoyed your post. One of my favorite chores is mopping the floor, especially with a strong smelling cleaner such as ‘Fabuloso’. I also enjoy vacuuming but I can not stand sweeping either!

    Like

      hwankevin responded:
      May 16, 2015 at 3:32 pm

      Thanks, I actually enjoy the chore, but I can’t stand the complaint when I’m doing it. I never use vacuum cleaner because the condition in my country, Indonesia because the dust sometimes too “soft” and sometimes too sticky (I don’t know the details because my parents explained it to me once when I was around 10 years old). Sorry about my English, because it’s not my native language

      Liked by 1 person

        sensuallydesired said:
        May 16, 2015 at 4:12 pm

        That’s very interesting about the soft and sticky dust!

        Like

        hwankevin responded:
        May 19, 2015 at 3:55 pm

        That’s mainly because my country is so humid, I’m from Indonesia by the way.

        Like

Leave a Reply

